Former champion Sunrisers Hyderabad could not get the job done with the bat against fellow former champion Kolkata Knight Riders in Match 3 of the 2021 Indian Premier League at the MA Chidambaram (Chepauk) Stadium in Chennai on Sunday. After Nitish Rana and Rahul Tripathi nailed it with the bat, KKR's all-round bowling effort put SRH short of ten runs.

Winning the toss, SRH skipper Warner elected to bowl first. As the KKR opener came out to bat, Shubman Gill and Rana were brutal right from the start, scoring 50/0 in the powerplay.

Nonetheless, in the seventh over, at 53, Gill fell for 15 after being cleaned up by leg-spinner Rashid Khan. As Tripathi joined Rana, it was utter devastation from both, contributing to a 93-run stand for the second wicket.

While Rana scored his 13th IPL half-century during this phase, Tripathi backed it up with his sixth 50 of the tournament. Nevertheless, in the 16th over, the latter fell for 53 to pacer T Natarajan after scooping an easy lofted catch to wicketkeeper Wriddhiman Saha.

The very next over, at 157, dangerous all-rounder Andre Russell departed for just five to Rashid after being brilliantly caught by Manish Pandey at long-on. Just three runs later, in the 18th over, spinner Mohammad Nabi got rid of two batsmen in consecutive deliveries, as Rana fell for 80, and skipper Eoin Morgan followed back for a mere couple.

Nonetheless, the pair of wicketkeeper-batsman, Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan batted until the end to produce a 27-run stand for the sixth wicket. While Karthik remained unbeaten on 22, Shakib departed off the final ball from seamer Bhuvneshwar and was caught by Abdul Samad, as KKR finished on 187/6.

As for SRH, six bowlers were utilised, with Rashid and Nabi being the most effective ones, while the former was also the most economical.

FULL SCORECARD: IPL 2021, Match 3- Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight Riders

When SRH came out for the chase, it was off to a shaky start, losing Warner for just three in the second over, with just ten runs on the board, as Karthik caught him behind off pacer Prasidh Krishna. At the same score, fellow opener Saha, too, departed for a mere seven to spinner Shakib in the next over after being bowled over.

The pair of Manish Pandey and Jonny Bairstow did some hard work and contributed to a 92-run stand for the third wicket, with the latter doing most of the hitting. During this time, the Englishman brought up his sixth IPL half-century before departing for 55 to pacer Pat Cummins after being handed straight to Nitish Rana.

As Mohammad Nabi joined Pandey, 29 more runs were contributed before the Afghan fell in the 16th over to Krishna after Morgan was handed an easy one at covers. Even the incoming all-rounder Vijay Shankar could not do much, besides contributing 11, and fell at 150 to pacer Russell after Morgan claimed another catch.

It was finally on to Pandey to do the miracle. However, the KKR bowlers were just too good, as, along with Samad, Pandey could hardly get the job done for SRH, falling short by ten runs.

For KKR, six bowlers were utilised as well. While Krishna had the most success, Cummins had the best economy.
Brief scores: KKR 187/6 (Rana- 80, Tripathi- 53; Rashid- 2/24, Nabi- 2/32) beat SRH 177/5 (Pandey 61*, Bairstow- 55; Krishna- 2/35) by ten runs.