Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable
breaking news image

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Congress releases list of 8 candidates for Haryana; check details

The Congress announced its eight candidates for Haryana that is all set to go to polls on May 25. Deepender Singh Hooda and Kumari Selja, former Haryana Congress head, are among the major contenders running for office.

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Congress releases list of 8 candidates for Haryana; check details RBA
First Published Apr 26, 2024, 9:33 AM IST

On Thursday, Congress unveiled its initial list of eight candidates for the Haryana Lok Sabha elections, which will be conducted on May 25. Divyanshu Buddhi Raja, the state Youth Congress president, will face former chief minister Manohar Lal Khattar in the Karnal seat. Similarly, former Haryana Congress president Kumari Selja has been fielded from the Sirsa seat. 

Former MP Jai Prakash has been selected as the party's Lok Sabha candidate for Hisar, with Mulana MLA Varun Chaudhary running for Ambala. Satpal Brahmachari, a Congress politician, will run in Sonepat, Deepender Singh Hooda in Rohtak, and Mahendra Pratap in Faridabad. 

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Voting begins on 89 seats across 13 states

Rao Dan Singh, a Mahendragarh MLA, has been nominated by the party for the Bhiwani-Mahendragarh seat, replacing Shruti Chaudhary, a former MP and working president of the Haryana Pradesh Congress Committee. 

Also Read: Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Over 66,000 police personnel deployed in Kerala to strengthen security

The sixth phase of elections for ten Lok Sabha seats in Haryana will be held on May 25. The constituencies are Ambala, Kurukshetra, Sirsa, Hisar, Karnal, Sonipat, Rohtak, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Gurugram, and Faridabad. 

The BJP swept the state's Lok Sabha elections in 2019, capturing all ten seats. 

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios