The Union government is holding a high-level meeting to discuss on how to bring back Class X board exams for the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) students and do away with the no-fail policy in elementary schools across the country.


The Central Advisory Board on Education (CABE) members, which includes Human resource development minister Prakash Javadekar and top bureaucrats, are meeting state education ministers and independent expert to reach an agreement.


A total of  21 states and Union territories have vehemently opposed the no-fail policy.  


Only Six states - all of them are either ruled by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) or its allies - are in support of the policy under the Right to Education (RTE) Act, wherein no children in the 6-16 age group can be failed in schools till Class VIII.

The CBSE class X board exams were made optional in 2009-10 when the Congress-led United Progressive Alliance was in power.