Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma for Khel Ratna and 3 cricketers for Arjuna Award

BCCI has announced nominations for the National Sports Awards 2020. Rohit Sharma has been nominated for Khel Ratna

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma Khel Ratna 3 cricketers Arjuna Award
Mumbai, First Published May 30, 2020, 8:11 PM IST

Mumbai: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday (May 30) announced that it has nominated Rohit Sharma for the prestigious Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award 2020 while Ishant Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Deepti Sharma have been nominated for Arjuna Awards.

Also read: Virat Kohli lone Indian in Forbes' 100 highest paid athletes list

The ministry of youth affairs and sports had sought invitations for the respective awards with the period of consideration beginning January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2019.

Also read: Ian Bishop picks ODI team of the decade

India limited-overs vice-captain Rohit has been a prolific run-getter in the white-ball formats. Named the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year for 2019, the stylish opener became the first player in the history of the game to score five ODI centuries in one edition of the World Cup. He is also the first batsman to score four T20I centuries and is the first player to have twin centuries in his maiden appearance as a Test opener.

Also read: Rohit Sharma reveals 'retirement age'

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma Khel Ratna 3 cricketers Arjuna Award

Shikhar holds the record for the fastest Test century on debut and is the only batsman in the world to have won two consecutive golden bats (for most runs) in the ICC Champions Trophy. He is also the quickest Indian batsman to reach 2,000 and 3,000 runs in ODIs and second-fastest Indian to score 4,000 and 5,000 runs in ODIs.

The youngest Indian to play all three formats of the game, Ishant has been leading the Indian pace bowling attack and holds the record for most wickets by an Indian pacer outside Asia.

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma Khel Ratna 3 cricketers Arjuna Award

A top-class all-rounder, Deepti holds the record for the highest individual women’s ODI score by an Indian player and is also the only Indian spinner to take six ODI wickets.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly said, “We went through a lot of data and considered various parameters before shortlisting the nominees. Rohit Sharma has set new benchmarks as a batsman and achieved scores people thought were not possible in the shorter formats of the game. We feel he is worthy of getting the prestigious Khel Ratna award for his commitment, conduct, consistency and his leadership skills.

BCCI nominates Rohit Sharma Khel Ratna 3 cricketers Arjuna Award

“Ishant Sharma is the most senior member of the Test squad and his contribution has been vital in Indian team’s long run as the No. 1 Test side. Fast bowlers are prone to injuries and Ishant has had a fair share of them but he has fought hard to be back on the park every time. Shikhar has been consistently scoring at the top and his performances in the ICC events have been significant. Deepti is a genuine all-rounder and her contribution to the team has been vital.”

BCCI secretary Jay Shah said, “There is no bigger honour than representing your country and being nominated for national awards is a recognition of your hard work. In the last five years, Rohit Sharma has not only raised the bar with his individual performances but has also led the Indian team with distinction in Virat Kohli’s absence.

“Under his captaincy, India famously won the Asia Cup in UAE, the Nidahas Trophy in Sri Lanka and registered many bilateral series wins at home. Rohit has been a perfect team-man and a mentor to youngsters. He deserves the highest sporting honour in the country. Ishant Sharma has been a warhorse while Shikhar Dhawan lifts the team's morale with his fearless approach. Deepti Sharma has contributed a lot in Indian team’s consistent showing in the big-ticket events.”

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios