Four Bengalureans made the city proud when they were awarded India's most prestigious science prize on Monday by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.


Indian Institute of Science (IISc) researchers Rishikesh Narayan, Partha Sarathi Mukherjee and Sudhir Kumar Vempati were chosen for the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar award for their contribution in the field of biological, chemical and physical sciences. 


The fourth winner from Bengaluru, Venkata Narayana Padmanabhan of Microsoft Research India, will be sharing the prize with Avinash Kumar Agarwal from IIT-Kanpur under the category of engineering sciences.


Other recipients include Amlendu Krishna from Mumbai-based Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR) and Naveen Garg from IIT Delhi have been selected in the Mathematical Sciences category. 


Also, the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) Technology Award 2016 in the Life Sciences category was bagged by CSIR's National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI) and Central Institute of Medicinal and Aromatic Plants (CIMAP), Lucknow for the development of herbal composition for management of diabetes. 


The Bhatnagar award is named after the founder Director of the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar. This award is the most coveted award in multidisciplinary science in India which comprises of a ₹5 lakh cash prize and a citation. It was first awarded in 1958.