The LDF retained the Mattannur municipality in Kannur, by winning 28 out of the 35 wards in the civic body elections.

The CPM-led coalition recorded its fifth successive win in Mattannur and also managed to improve on its previous majority of 21 wards, by winning seven more. The LDF won 705 votes out of the overall total of 768.

The UDF, which won 13 wards during the previous elections, had to be content with seven wards this time, in what was a thoroughly disappointing show by the Congress.

The BJP managed to finish second in nine wards of the 35 wards, shocking the UDF. The saffron party was second in the Kayalur, Kolari, Ayyallur, Idavelikkal, Karetta, Devarkad, Mattannur, Mataannur town and Mettadi wards.

Mattannur municipality went to the polls on Tuesday to elect a 35-member council. Mattannur, a CPM bastion, has been dominated by the LDF in alla elections since 1997.

Around 112 candidates were in the fray as polls were held in 35 wards in the municipality. While the LDF and the UDF contested in all 35 wards, the BJP fielded candidates in 32 wards.