Jayanagar is one of the oldest localities in Bengaluru. This makes it one of the most conservative places to live. It has a substantial population of long-term, mostly Kannada-speaking residents, who are mainly the upper middle class.

Jayanagar constituency is almost developed with beautiful roads, parks, drinking water, well-planned sewage system and is home to all basic facilities. 

Jayanagar was renamed after the Mysuru King Jayachamaraja. It is surrounded by Basavanagudi, JP Nagar, Banashankari 2nd stage and BTM Layout among other areas. 

It has been the safest fort of BJP for the last 10 years. Much before that, it was Congress leader Ramalinga Reddy, who was elected for 4 terms from the constituency. After splitting the constituency, Ramalinga Reddy chose to contest from BTM Layout. In 2008 and 2013, BJP Candidate BN Vijaykumar was elected from the Constituency. Now it is Ramalinga Reddy's daughter Soumya Reddy, who has made inroads into her father's former constituency.

BN Vijaykumar, who won twice from 2008, is all set to score a hat trick. But this time, it is going to be a tough fight with Home Minister Ramalinga Reddy's daughter, who is aggressively campaigning in the constituency. Apart from the BJP-Congress fight, Ravi Krishna Reddy, who was expelled from AAP is trying his luck. Even Kale Gowda from the JDS is seeking votes. JDS secured 3rd place in the previous election with more than 12,000 votes. More than 19 candidates are contesting from Jayanagar constituency.

There are seven BBMP wards - 5 won by the BJP and 2 by the Congress. When it comes to community votes, it is largely dominated by Brahmins, Muslims, Vyshyas, Jains and OBC. BJP is banking upon the voters, who traditionally backed them. Congress is claiming that the development of Jayanagar happened during the tenure of Ramalinga Reddy.

Total Voters - 1,95,411

Male - 98,886

Female - 96,500

Others - 25