The BBMP Commissioner has prepared the final list of legislators, MPs, Corporators who will be voting for the BBMP Mayoral polls and submitted to the regional commissioner of the Urban Zone. According to the list 266 members are eligible to vote and the one who wins 134 votes will be the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, reported Kannada Prabha.

There are 198 BBMP members, 68 legislators, MPs who will vote.  Of this BJP 124, Congress 109, JDS 24 and independent 9 votes will be cast.  Without the support of JDS no one Party can get majority.

The term of Mayor G Padmavathi and Deputy Mayor Anand’s terms will end on Sept 28.  Hence preparations are in full swing for elections. Regional Commissioner Jayanthi is overseeing the preparations and she will be announcing the election date shortly.

Of the list 68 people’s representatives who are not BBMP members will cast their votes.  Legislators 28, MLCs 25 and MPs 10 and 5 MLAs will be voting. Like in the last two elections, this time too both Congress and BJP need the support of JD(S).  If JD(S) supports BJP it will be a clear majority for Mayor.  For the Congress along with JD(S), support of independents is also essential.  Since the JD(S) has not yet announced whom they are going to support the Mayoral election is causing a lot of curiosity.

If BJP and JD(S) join, the independent BBMP members will be left hanging.  In the first year 4 out of the 7 independents were given the post of president in the Standing Committee. The rest 3 were asked to wait by the Congress. This time also it is doubtful if all 7 will get president’s post.

The Mayor’s post is reserved for Schedule Cast (General) and Deputy Mayor’s post is reserved for General Category (Woman).