EX-Naxals allege Sangh Parivar hand in Gauri Lankesh killing

First Published 12, Sep 2017, 4:25 PM IST
EX Naxals allege hand of Sangh Parivar in Gauri Lankeshs killing
  • Former Naxals allege Sangh Parivar's hand in Gauri Lankesh’s killing
  • Putting blame on the naxals is a way to mislead the investigation, say former naxals
  • The State government has announced police protection to select 16 writers and thinkers


Former Naxals Noor Sridhar and Sirimane Nagaraj have alleged Sangh Parivar's hand in Gauri Lankesh’s killing. At the same time they claimed that blaming naxals for the killing is an attempt to mislead the investigations. "Sangh Parivar is the prime enemy for Gauri Lankesh, they are the ones who are celebrating her death, and going by these aspects, one can consider that Sangh Parivar was responsible for the killing," reports Kannada Prabha quoting the former naxals.

Blaming naxals for the killing is actually a cunning strategy. If Naxals had done something like this, they would have claimed it and let the world know through the pamphlets. Maoism is a very disciplined party. It has a manifesto and constitution. It has very stringent organising policy and acts accordingly. Majority of the opinions are considered and those who believe in Maoism will never resort to this kind of killing, they said. Taking objection to accusing former naxal Vikram Gowda, Nagaraj and Shridhar said Gowda is working for the betterment of tribals. These are baseless allegations. 

Meanwhile, the State government has announced police protection to select 16 writers and thinkers. Dr Girish Karnad, Dr Chandarshekhar Kambar, Prof Chandrashekhar Patil, Dr M Chidananda Murthy and chief minister’s media adviser Dinesh Ameen Mattoo, Nidumamidi Veerabhadra Channamalla Swamiji, Dr Baraguru Ramachandrappa,  Dr Siddalaingaiah, Praja Parivarthana Vedike president B Gopal, and retired IAS officer MS Jamadar are provided with gunman bodyguards.

TV serial director TN Seetharam, Janavadi Mahila Sanghatane president KS Vimala, former president of Backward Classes Commission Dwarakanath, scholar Dr K Marulasiddappa, former minister BT Lalitha Naik and freedom fighter HS Doreswamy too are provided with police guard.