Bengaluru: Karnataka deputy chief minister CN Ashwath Narayan on Thursday said that the Cabinet has decided to set up 4 new medical colleges in the state.

“We are going yo set up four new medical colleges. They will be set up in Chikkamangaluru, Chikkaballapur, Yadagiri and Haveri districts of the state. Cabinet has approved this proposal of the medical colleges.” Narayan said.

Meanwhile, he also added that the proposal for medical college in Kanakapura has been cancelled.

Narayan said that they were trying to set up colleges in the district level before going to taluka level. On reports of Kanakapura colleges being shifted to Chikkaballapur , he said, “The medical colleges in Chikkaballapur has nothing to do with Kanakapura.”

Congress leader DK Shivakumar had strongly protested against shifting the medical college from his constituency,  Kanakapura. The previous Congress-JDS government had cleared the proposal to establish the medical college in Kanakapura.