Bengaluru: Those who have been infected by the coronavirus and those suspected to be infected will be allowed to cast their vote between 5pm and 6pm on November 3 for the bypolls to Rajarajeshwarinagar Assembly constituency.

The announcement was made by the Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) on Thursday also stating that special arrangements have been made for the infected voters.

According to BBMP Commissioner N Manjunath Prasad, voting arrangements have been made at 678 polling stations in the constituency.

While 1,177 people in RR Nagar had tested positive for COVID-19 till Wednesday, 842 were under home isolation, 317 others were hospitalised and 18 were in COVID-19 Care facilities, he stated.

Manjunath Prasad added that the data on all who have tested positive till November 2 will be collected and the voters will be picked up in ambulances to be brought to the polling stations.

A BBMP statement mentioned "To make use of the ambulance service, those who suspect they might have COVID-19 may call 080-28600954/ 28604331/ 28601050/ 94822 24474”.

For the uninitiated RR Nagar, along with the Shira Assembly segment in Tumakuru, will go to bypolls on November 3.