Asianet News English

Bangalore Central: PC Mohan trails behind Rizwan Arshad

BJP's PC Mohan has been the MP of Bengaluru Central from 2009. In a surprising development, however, Mohan now trails behind his arch-rival Rizwan Arshad

Bangalore Central PC Mohan trails behind Rizwan Arshad
Bengaluru, First Published May 23, 2019, 1:03 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: In a surprising development, BJP candidate PC Mohan is trailing against Congress' Rizwan Arshad in Bengaluru Central constituency.

Currently, PC Mohan has secured 2,82,289 votes and Rizwan Arshad has secured 3,18,998 votes. Rizwan leads by a margin of 36,709 votes.

Another prominent contestant Prakash Raj, who contested as independent has secured 13,855 votes.

Meanwhile, so far 5,052 people have opted for NOTA in the constituency.

However, BJP is leading in Bengaluru South as its candidate Tejasvi Surya has secured 3,06,728 votes against BK Hariprasad who has garnered 1,69,517 votes so far.

In Bengaluru Rural, sitting MP of Congress, DK Suresh leads by a huge margin against BJP's Ashwanthnarayana.

in Karnataka overall, BJP is leading in 23 constituencies, whereas Congress has taken the lead in three and JD(S) leads in two constituencies.

In 2014, PC Mohan had secured 5,57,130 votes against Rizwan Arshad, who had got 4,19,630 votes. PC Mohan had also won the election in 2009 against Congress' HT Sangliana (Mohan had secured 340,162 votes and Sangliana secured 304,944 votes).

The constituency was formed as a result of delimitation in 2008. Eight Assembly seats including Sarvajnanagar, CV Raman Nagar, Shivajinagar, Shanti Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Rajaji Nagar, Chamarajapet and Mahadevapura are included in this Lok Sabha constituency.


Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios