Asianet News English

Women’s T20 World Cup 2020: Team of the tournament unveiled

The team of the tournament of the ICC Women's T20 World Cup 2020 has been announced. Who all made the cut? Find out here. There is only one Indian

Women T20 World Cup 2020 team of tournament unveiled
Melbourne VIC, First Published Mar 9, 2020, 12:05 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Melbourne: The International Cricket Council (ICC) today (March 9) announced the team of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020. The title was won by Australia on Sunday (March 8) after they defeated India.

At the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Australia won their fifth World T20 title. India failed to chase 185 as they were bowled out for 99.

Also read: 'Don't cry in public', says Indian legend

In the team of the tournament unveiled by ICC, there are five Australians. There is only one Indian in the 11 while there is another one as the 12th player.

India’s leg-spinner Poonam Yadav is the lone face in the 11-member list. India’s leading T20I wicket-taker took 4/19 in the opener against Australia and didn’t look back, bagging three against Bangladesh before rounding off with wickets in each match.

Also read: Here's what Smriti Mandhana told tearful Shafali Verma

Taking her place as 12th is teenage sensation Shafali Verma – who broke record after record at the top of India’s order.

Fearless cricket had the opposition running scared of the 16-year-old, with her devastating 163 runs coming at a jaw-dropping strike rate of 158.25.

The side was selected by a selection panel featuring commentators and former international players Ian Bishop, Anjum Chopra and Lisa Sthalekar, journalist Raf Nicholson and ICC representative Holly Colvin.

The team of ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2020 (in batting order)

1. Alyssa Healy (wk) (Australia) – 236 runs at 39.33, seven dismissals

2. Beth Mooney (Australia) – 259 runs at 64.75

3. Nat Sciver (England) – 202 runs at 67.33

4. Heather Knight (England) – 193 runs at 64.33

5. Meg Lanning (captain) (Australia) – 132 runs at 44

6. Laura Wolvaardt (South Africa) – 94 runs at strike rate of 149

7. Jess Jonassen (Australia) – 10 wickets at 14.00

8. Sophie Ecclestone (England) – eight wickets at 6.12

9. Anya Shrubsole (England) – eight wickets at 10.62

10. Megan Schutt (Australia) – 13 wickets at 10.30

11. Poonam Yadav (India) – 10 wickets at 11.90

12th player: Shafali Verma (India) – 163 runs at strike rate of 158.25

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios