Asianet News English

Bushfire Cricket Bash: Full list of players, date, venue

Cricket legends will play to raise funds for those affected by Australian bushfires. Sachin Tendulkar will be coach of one of the teams at the Bushfire Cricket Bash

Bushfire Cricket Bash Full list of players date venue
Sydney NSW, First Published Feb 1, 2020, 3:01 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Sydney: The Bushfire Cricket Bash will be played at the iconic Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney on February 8 (Saturday) with the participation of some of the greats of the game.

Australian legends Ricky Ponting and Shane Warne have been named the captains. Indian batting legend Sachin Tendulkar will coach Ponting’s XI while West Indies great Courtney Walsh is Warne’s XI coach.

Also read: Shane Warne's baggy green shatters record

“The exhibition match will be a 10-overs-per-side contest, with a five-over Powerplay, no bowling restrictions, and batters unable to get out from the first ball they face.

“Bowlers will not have over limits, fielders can sub on and off as it suits, while captains will have the ability to sub batters in and out during an innings,” Cricket Australia’s (CA) website reported.

West Indies batting great Brian Lara will be a part of the contest while former Australian captain Steve Waugh will be seen in a non-playing capacity.

“To have Brian Lara playing in this match is an unbelievable win for our fans,” Anthony Everard, Cricket Australia Executive General Manager of Fan Engagement, was quoted as saying.

“It's also going to be a great experience for our playing squad, particularly the likes of Phoebe Litchfield who could find herself batting alongside Brian.

“Nick Riewoldt, Dan Christian and Holly Ferling complete the squad nicely, adding a bit of bowling depth to an extremely talented line-up.

“We can't wait to see Lara out on the SCG with the likes of Yuvraj Singh, Shane Warne, Grace Harris, Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, Adam Gilchrist, Brett Lee, Mike Hussey, Matthew Hayden and Ellyse Villani,” he added.

The proceeds of the match will go those affected by Australian bushfires.

Players for Bushfire Cricket Bash

Shane Warne (captain), Ricky Ponting (captain), Adam Gilchrist, Alex Blackwell, Andrew Symonds, Brad Fittler, Brad Haddin, Brett Lee, Brian Lara, Dan Christian,  Nick Riewoldt, Elyse Villani, Grace Harris, Holly Ferling, Justin Langer, Luke Hodge, Matthew Hayden, Michael Clarke, Mike Hussey, Phoebe Litchfield, Shane Watson, Yuvraj Singh.

Coaches: Sachin Tendulkar, Courtney Walsh

Non-playing capacity: Steve Waugh, Mel Jones, Andrew Johns

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios