Will the situation favour Chennai Super Kings or Kolkata Knight Riders as the two IPL giants will clash at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai once again on Tuesday? 

Two-time champions CSK have a consistent and unrivalled IPL record, while KKR have also won the event twice. Here are some interesting stats which tell us more about how the teams have performed in IPL over the years. 

CSK vs KKR, head-to-head in IPL - advantage Chennai Super Kings

CSK vs KKR IPL matches played - 14

CSK matches won - 10

KKR matches won - 4

The reason the CSK vs KKR head-to-head stats are so lopsided is because KKR were initially not the winning team they have become in recent years. On the basis of the head-to-head stats alone, it’s safe to predict a win for CSK. But that is obviously not the only parameter to consider.

Out of the 14 matches, the two teams have played in IPL, 6 have been played in Chennai, and CSK have won 4 of those matches. Will the home advantage benefit Chennai Super Kings today? 

Source: Cricbuzz.com

It’s difficult when you have to make predictions concerning two of the most high-profile teams in IPL history. Both Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders have had a glorious past. A CSK vs KKR IPL match is as good as an IPL final. Expect a lot of excitement and don’t be surprised if it goes down to the wire. 

However, in this one, I’m predicting a positive result for Chennai Super Kings. Apart from the fact that they’re playing at home, they’re a strong side with consistent and all-around performers. Kolkata Knight Riders have a lot of spirit but certain aspects of their game fall apart too easily. So my pick: Dhoni & team! Do you agree with my prediction?

Kolkata Knight Riders possible XI: Chris Lynn, Sunil Narine, Robin Uthappa, Nitish Rana, Dinesh Karthik (c & wk), Rinku Singh, Andre Russell, Vinay Kumar, Piyush Chawla, Mitchell Johnson, Kuldeep Yadav

Chennai Super Kings possible XI: Murali Vijay, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir