Asianet News English

Namma Bengaluru Awards: Here is list of finalists; winners to be honoured on April 27

The Namma Bengaluru awards are given in honour of individuals who made Bengaluru a better place to live in. The awards will be presented on April 27

Namma Bengaluru Awards: Here is list of finalists; winners to be honoured on April 27
Bengaluru, First Published Apr 26, 2019, 4:50 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: The 10th edition of Namma Bengaluru Awards will be presented in the city on April 27. The event recognises and honours outstanding individuals and their contribution towards making Bengaluru a better place to live in and making a difference to the city.

Namma Bengaluru Awards are growing considerably since their inception, with nominations of truly deserving candidates from different walks of life increased tenfold for the prestigious awards and cash prizes.

Owing to the growing popularity of Namma Bengaluru Awards, the team has now decided to form Namma Bengaluru Awards Trust, which will streamline the administration of the awards process.

With the tagline ‘My City My Heroes’ and another update for this year is that the team has decided to go completely online and will only be accepting completed online applications.

Here are the names of the finalists for Namma Bengaluru Awards

Social Entrepreneur

Jayaram HR — Lawyer, organic farming

Kuldeep Dantewadia — CEO Reap Benefit, solid waste management

Nalini Shekar, Shekar Prabhakar and Marwan Abubaker — Hasiru Dala leaders, solid waste management

Rajesh Babu and Victoria Joslin D'souza — Co-founders, Swachha eco solutions

Smita Kulkarni — Founder Stonesoup, Solid Waste Management

Citizen of the year

Ashok Kamath — Chairman of Akshara Foundation

Brinda Adige — Author and founder of Global Concerns India

Joy Srinivas — Founder of Makkala Jagrithi

Mahantesh G Kivadasannanavar — Samarthanam Trust for the Disabled

Dr Malathi K Holla — Chairperson of Mathru Foundation

Sathya Sankaran — Founding member of CiFOS and Praja

Vijay Nishant — Founder of Vruksha

Udaya Kumar — Head services delivery centre - Heritage and industrial automation

Media person of the year

Ashwini M Sripad — Special correspondent, The New Indian Express

Manjunath R — Principal correspondent, Prajavani

Meera Bhardwaj — Special correspondent, The New Indian Express

Ranjani Madhawan — Reporter and sub-editor, The New Indian Express

Rohit BR — Deputy Chief of Bureau, Times of India

Rising Star of the Year

Arnav Jindal — Founder of Hit the Recycle Bin

Nithya K — Founder, Green Squad and Neerathon

Meghana Murthy — Founder-president Smitam

Sankalp Mohan Sharma — India's youngest climate reality leader

Shashwat Behl — Co-founder of Innovative and Scientific Experiments.

Government Official of the Year

Dr Ashokraj Bapugouda Patil — Technical advisor to agriculture minister, Karnataka

Jayaprakash — Joint director of land records

Mirza Anwar — Assistant Executive Engineer

Dr Rajani Parthasarathy — Deputy Director Mental Health, Dept of Health and Family Welfare

Ravindra Kumar N — Assistant Conservator of Forest.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios