Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable
breaking news image

Wayanad Election Results 2024: Congress leader Rahul Gandhi wins for second consecutive term

Wayanad Lok Sabha Election 2024 Results: INC's Rahul Gandhi has once again won the Wayanad seat against CPI's Annie Raja. K Surendran, BJP state president contested on the NDA ticket.

Wayanad kerala lok sabha election results 2024 winning candidate rahul gandhi annie raja k surendran anr
First Published Jun 4, 2024, 7:30 AM IST

Wayanad, a charming district situated amidst the Western Ghats of Kerala, is excitedly preparing for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. It's expected to host a competitive race among prominent candidates aiming for the prestigious parliamentary seat. Counting votes began at 8 am on Tuesday (June 04).

Election Results 2024:

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi wins for the second consecutive term by a huge margin of 364422 votes and garnered a total of 647445 votes.

Annie Raja (CPI) - 283023 votes

K Surendran (NDA) - 141045 votes

2024 Elections: 

Rahul Gandhi, part of the United Democratic Front (UDF), is running for the Wayanad Lok Sabha seat, pitted against Annie Raja, a CPI national leader representing the Left Democratic Front (LDF). While Annie Raja is vigorously campaigning in Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi is opting for a more subdued approach, relying on his widespread popularity to clinch another substantial win.

Meanwhile, K Surendran, the BJP's state president, has chosen to enter the fray in Wayanad, in line with the party's national strategy to present a formidable challenge in Rahul Gandhi's constituency.

2019 Elections: 

The 2019 elections garnered significant national attention as Congress leader Rahul Gandhi contested from Wayanad as a UDF candidate, facing off against CPI's PP Suneer from the Left and Tushar Vellapally from BDJS representing the NDA. With an impressive voter turnout of 80.37%, Rahul Gandhi secured a resounding victory, garnering a massive majority of 4,31,770 votes out of a total of 10,87,783 votes cast. Rahul received 706,367 votes (64.94%), while Suneer obtained 274,597 votes (25.24%) and Thushar garnered 78,816 votes (7.25%).

Latest Videos
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios