Veteran Congress leader and six-time MLA KR Ramesh Kumar has been unanimously elected as the Speaker of Karnataka Assembly. He was the unanimous choice of the Congress and JD(S) alliance.

BJP MLA Suresh Kumar had contested against Ramesh Kumar, but Suresh Kumar withdrew his nomination just before Ramesh Kumar was nominated.

Former chief minister Siddaramaiah nominated Ramesh for the post of Speaker and Chief Minister Kumaraswamy, leader of the Opposition BS Yeddyurappa and Deputy CM G Parameshwara congratulated Ramesh Kumar on being elected as the Speaker for the second term.

Ramesh Kumar was elected as the Speaker in 1994, in SM Krishna's term as the Chief Minister. Thus, Ramesh Kumar has adorned the chair after an 18 year gap.

CM Kumaraswamy and Deputy CM Parameshwara thanked the BJP for helping them elect Ramesh Kumar unanimously.