Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) will be taking on Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) in Match no. 30 of the Indian Premier League (IPL)  2017 at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Wednesday. On one hand, RPS have won three in a row and on the other, KKR have won two out of their last three matches. If KKR wins this encounter against RPS, they will reclaim the top spot in the IPL 2017 points table from Mumbai Indians. 

KKR were famous for their spinning department until IPL 2016. But this year their seamers have stolen the show. Out of the 47 wickets picked up by kKR bowlers, the pacemen rent Boult, Chris Woakes, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Umesh Yadav and Colin de Grandhomme together, have bagged 34. 

The Sunil Narine-factor seemed to have clicked for Gautam Gambhir too at the top of the order. The Knight Riders have been getting off to fliers in almost all their games. Therefore, Steve Smith and co. have some serious issues to deal with when they will run into a red-hot KKR on Wednesday. 

Meanwhile, the Supergiant, have played some good cricket in the last three matches. They have been on top of their game and that is exactly how Smith would want them to be when they will lock horns with one of the best sides in the tournament. 

Smith himself has not been amongst runs and he needs to fire yet again to further bolster their performances in the remainder of the IPL 2017. Manoj Tiwary and Rahul Tripathi have been two of their best performers with the bats in the last few games as well. 

Now as we have come halfway through the IPL 2017, this is where things start getting interesting and the points table start to fluctuate every now and then. Let us see who wins this battle between Pune and Kolkata. Last year, KKR were victorious in both the meetings against RPS.

Likely XIs:

Rising Pune Supergiant: Rahul Tripathi, Ajinkya Rahane, Steve Smith (C), MS Dhoni (wk), Ben Stokes, Manoj Tiwary, Daniel Christian, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Imran Tahir.

Kolkata Knight Riders: Sunil Narine, Gautam Gambhir (C), Robin Uthappa (wk), Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shakib al Hasan, Colin de Grandhomme, Chris Woakes, Kuldeep Yadav, Umesh Yadav.