Mumbai Indians (MI) will take on Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in Match no. 7 of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2017 at the Wankhede Stadium on Sunday evening. The encounter between these two sides has had a lot of history and Mumbai Indians have had the last laugh most of the time. But KKR are a rejuvenated side this year as they are coming into this fixture on the back of an astounding victory against Gujarat Lions. Mumbai Indians will have to come up with their best performance to outclass this in-form KKR side. 


Rohit Sharma and co. will be smiling as Lasith Malinga is fit and will be available for selection for their clash against KKR. But they also have to deal with a bad news as Ambati Rayudu has been sidelined with a groin injury for at least 10 days. Saurabh Tiwary will likely replace Rayudu in the side. Harbhajan Singh might also get the nod in place of Krunal Pandya in the playing XI for Mumbai Indians. 


Click here for the TV schedule of MI vs KKR.


Gautam Gambhir on the other hand, is unlikely to make any changes to his playing XI. However, He might just be tempted to play Shakib Al Hasan in the place of Chris Woakes, who did not impress with the ball in the first match. KKR will also have to work on their fielding which was not impressive at all as they dropped a number of catches against Gujarat Lions. Considering their form, they cannot allow such slip ups on the field against Mumbai Indians. 


Rohit Sharma is yet to score big and he would be raring to go out there and get some runs under his belt. He holds a good record against the Knight Riders be it at home or away and he will look to add on to that record. Meanwhile Gambhir has already scored a half century in IPL 2017 and he would like to emulate his form against MI as well. KKR will also be counting on Chris Lynn, who went berserk against Gujarat Lions the other day. 




18 matches: Mumbai Indians 13 Kolkata Knight Riders 5


IPL 2016: Mumbai Indians 1 Kolkata Knight Riders 1


Likely XIs:


Mumbai Indians: Parthiv Patel (wk), Jos Buttler, Rohit Sharma (C), Saurabh Tiwary, Nitish Rana, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Panyda, Harbhajan Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mitchell McClenaghan, Lasith Malinga. 


Kolkata Knight Riders: Gautam Gambhir (C), Chris Lynn, Manish Pandey, Yusuf Pathan, Shakib Al Hasan/Chris Woakes, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, Sunil Narine, Piyush Chawla, Trent Boult.