News reports have confirmed that the Qatari administration on Wednesday have confirmed that the country will now allow citizens of over 80 countries to visit without visa.

India, USA, UK, Canada,Australia is among the countries in this list. Now, instead of applying for a visa, visitors will need a multi-entry waiver which will be free-of-charge at the port of entry. Along with this passengers need to have a valid passport with a minimum validity of six months and a confirmed onward or return ticket.

Hassan Al Ibrahim, Acting Chairman of Qatar Tourism Authority confirmed the news and said that they intended to invite visitors to share in their hospitality.  However, the multi-entry waiver will depend on the nationality of the citizen as well and can vary from 180 days to 30 days allowance.

The decision is being hailed as historic because considering the Gulf standoff which meant closing boundaries to Qatar, the country has decided to open its borders to others.