Bengaluru: The South Western Railway is likely to operate 21 pairs of special trains (42 in total) to destinations within and outside the state.

The special trains will operate from and to Karnataka from October 20, as there will be a huge rise in demand for trains during the festival season ahead of Navratri.

These special train services will be named ‘Festival Specials’ that will be operated between October 20 and November 30.

Also read: Karnataka: Woman prays and steals money from Mangalarathi plate

According to a proposal issued by the Ministry of Railways, these trains should be operated at a minimum speed of 55 kilometres per hour as they come under the superfast services.

Of the special services planned, daily trains are likely to operate routes including KSR Bengaluru-Chennai Central, Mysuru-Mayiladuthurai Junction (Tamil Nadu), Mysuru-Tuticorin (Tamil Nadu), KSR Bengaluru-Kanyakumari (Tamil Nadu), Yeshwantpur-Kannur (Kerala), Hubballi-Lokamanyatilak (Maharashtra), Yeshwantpur-Howrah (West Bengal), Mysuru-Dharwad, and Hubballi-Secunderabad (Telangana).