Construction of a new Parliament building will begin in December this year and is likely to be completed by October 2022.

The Lok Sabha Secretariat informed on Friday that necessary measures have been put in place to ensure that Parliament sessions can be held uninterrupted during this period in the existing buildings.

Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla was briefed by Housing & Urban Affairs ministry officials about the progress made in the shifting of facilities and other infrastructure from the area proposed for the construction of the new building.

Officials said that the barricading plan and the various mitigating measures to control the air and noise pollution during the construction process were elaborated during the meeting. 

The Speaker was also informed about the proposed movement plan of VIPs and staff during this period, including during the Parliament Sessions. 

The existing Parliament House building, which is a British era building designed by Edwin Lutyens and Herbert Baker, will be suitably retro-fitted to provide more functional spaces for parliamentary events, to ensure its usage along with the new building.

Tata Projects Limited will construct the new Parliament building at a cost of Rs 861.90 crore. The new building will be constructed close to the existing one under the Central Vista redevelopment project.

Here are some other features that would be incorporated in the new building.

* The new building will have separate offices for Members of Parliament. 

* Seats for members in the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha chambers will be made comfortable with blocks of two seats

* Seats for members will be equipped with digital interfaces

* The new building will have a grand 'Constitution Hall', which will house, among other things, the original copy of the Constitution, digital displays for showcasing India's democratic heritage, etc. 

* The new building will also have a MP's Lounge, a Library, six Committee rooms, dining areas and parking space.  

* The new Lok Sabha chamber will have a seating capacity for 888 members, while Rajya Sabha will have 384 seats for the Upper house members