Patna: Even as first phase of Bihar polls was underway, Prime Minister Narendra Modi took centre stage on Wednesday and tore into Opposition and even went ahead to term the Mahagathbandan's chief ministerial candidate, Tejashwi Yadav, as ‘Yuvraaj of Jungleraj’ (Prince of Jungleraj).

Notably, the era of former chief minister and Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) founder Lalu Prasad Yadav's rule in the state is often referred to as 'Junglreraj' by its opponents.

"I want to know from the people of Patna, I want to know from the people of Bihar, could Bihar dream of becoming an IT-hub in Jungle Raj? Whether 'Yuvraj of Jungle Raj', he can take Bihar forward in the field of IT, or in any area of modernity," PM Modi said at the rally held in Patna.

Attacking the RJD, the Prime Minister said, "Who can fulfil the aspirations of the poor of Bihar, this aspiration of the middle class of Bihar? People who made Bihar sick, looted Bihar, can they do this work? Those who thought only of their family, did injustice to every single person of Bihar, also took away the rights of Dalits-Backward-deprived, will those people understand the expectations of Bihar? Only NDA can do it."

PM Modi appealed to the people to cast their votes for National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidates to save Bihar from becoming 'bimar'.

Also read: Bihar election 2020: BJP files complaint against Rahul Gandhi for poll code violation

"Just like you can save yourself from COVID-19 with a mask, similarly with a single vote you can save Bihar from becoming 'bimar'," said PM Modi while making a voting appeal for NDA candidates.

He further said days of 'lalten' (lantern) (RJD's party symbol) are over and only NDA can fulfil the aspirations of Bihar.

As the polling is underway in the first phase of the Bihar Legislative Elections 2020, Prime Minister Modi addressed rallies in Darbhanga, Muzaffarpur and Patna today.

Voting in these constituencies will be held in the second phase on November 3.

Elections to the 243-member Bihar Legislative Assembly are being held in three phases, with the second and third phase witnessing a fight over 94 and 78 seats and on November 3 and November 8 respectively. Results will be announced on November 10.