For their acts of bravery to protect the country's security and honour, Indian Army chief Gen MM Naravane on Friday presented Sena Medals to 15 officers and jawans, including five posthumously during the 73rd Army Day at Cariappa parade ground in Delhi. 

They were awarded for their gallantry during counter-terror operations in Jammu & Kashmir. 

Among five honoured posthumously include an officer and a Junior Commissioned Officer. 19 Rashtriya Rifles Major Ketan Sharma was awarded for showing exemplary courage during counter-terror operations on June 16, 2019, in Jammu & Kashmir. 

He killed a terrorist and saved the life of a colleague, despite being severely injured due to incessant firing by the enemy. He later succumbed to his injuries.

On August 1, 2019, 34 battalion Rashtriya Rifles’ Sepoy Rambir saved his colleague before succumbing to his injuries during a cordon operation in a village in Jammu & Kashmir. 

On November 30, 2019, Naib Subedar Tsewang Gialshan of 5th battalion Ladakh Scouts Regiment saved a soldier trapped in an avalanche, disregarding his own safety at the Kansing post of Siachen Glacier. 

During cordon and search operation on February 1, 2019, Naik Sandeep Singh of 10 Para killed two terrorists before succumbing to his injuries. 

On March 23, 2019, Gdrs Hari Bhakar of 4 battalion the Grenadiers Regiment fired an anti-material rifle, with absolute precision and inflicted casualties on the enemy, at a forward post along the Line of Control.

Among 10 others who were awarded with Sena Medal, includes six officers. 

The officers are Lt Col Archit Goswami of 4 battalion of Parachute Regiment (Special Forces), Maj Gooty Balaji Niranjan of Army Aviation Corps, Maj Sachin Andotra of 34 Battalion Rashtriya Rifles (Army Service Corps), Maj Aman Singh of 44 Rashtriya Rifles (Armoured Corps), Maj Krunal Thakre of 46 Rashtriya Rifles (Sikh regiment) and Capt Abhishek Katoch of 3 Rashtriya Rifles (Corps of Electronics Mechanical Engineers). 

Subedar K Laldingliana of 42 battalion Rashtriya Rifles (Assam Regiment), Lance Havildar Pawar Vikas Vasant of 4 battalion Maratha Light Infantry, Naik Surendra Singh Rautela of 13 Rashtriya Rifles (Kumaon Regiment), Sepoy Rajpal of 19 Battalion of Rashtriya Rifles (The Regiment of Artillery) were also decorated with Sena Medal. 

The medal is presented in acknowledging individual acts of exceptional devotion to duty or courage as having special significance to the Indian Army.

Gen Naravane also awarded 23 Chief Of Army Staff Unit Citations for commendable performance of their respective units.

Gen Naravane launches 'My IA' mobile app 

Taking a step further in realising Prime Minister Narendra Modi's Digital India initiative, the Indian Army on Friday launched its mobile application "My IA" on the occasion of 73rd Army Day. 

The app will provide information about the organisation and career in the Indian Army. 

"General MM Naravane dedicated a mobile application 'My IA' on Army Day as part of the Digital India initiative. The app provides career-related information & details for joining Indian Army," the Army said in a tweet. 

The app is available on Google Play Store and iOS.