Asianet News English

Amitabh Bachchan named Dada Sahab Phalke winner

Union Minister Prakash Javadekar on Tuesday announced that Amitabh Bachchan has been selected for Dadasaheb Phalke Award.

Amitabh Bachchan named Dada Sahab Phalke winner
BANGALORE, First Published Sep 25, 2019, 4:35 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Megastar Amitabh Bachchan was on Tuesday named this year's Dada Sahab Phalke winner, Indian cinema's highest honour for an artiste.

Information and Broadcasting Minister Prakash Javadekar confirmed the news in a Twitter post.

"The legend Amitabh Bachchan who entertained and inspired for 2 generations has been selected unanimously for #DadaSahabPhalke award. The entire country and international community is happy. My heartiest Congratulations to him. @narendramodi @SrBachchan," Javadekar tweeted.

After several Bollywood celebrities congratulated legendary actor Amitabh Bachchan for prestigious Dadasaheb Phalke Award, the actor took to social media to express gratitude.    

"There is a paucity of words searching a response .. for the generosity of words that pour in ..I am but deeply grateful and most humbled .. my sincerest gratitude ..." the veteran actor tweeted.

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Tuesday congratulated film actor Amitabh Bachchan on being selected for the Dadasaheb Phalke award. Fadnavis also said Maharashtra saluted him for his legendary contribution towards Indian cinema. "Many many congratulations Amitabh Bachchan ji for being selected for the prestigious #DadaSahebPhalkeAward ! Maharashtra salutes you for your great and legendary contribution to the Indian cinema! @SrBachchan," Fadnavis tweeted.

The 76-year-old screen icon, who rose to stardom with his 'Angry Young Man' persona capturing the anger of the young generation in the 1970s with films such as "Zanjeer", "Deewar" and "Sholay", continues to be a force to reckon with in Indian cinema.

In a career spanning five decades, Bachchan has given memorable performances film after film and is a four-time National Film Award winner.

(Inputs from ANI)

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios