Asianet Newsable

All is not lost for the Congress, not in Puducherry at least

Congress set for win in Puducherry
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp


With the results of 25 constituencies declared, Congress has won 12 seats and was leading in three others while the DMK bagged one seat and is ahead in another as the alliance looked set for a comfortable majority.


After a close fight initially, AINRC managed to win only eight seats, including the Indira Nagar constituency by party founder and Chief Minister N Rangasamy.


The AIADMK, which fought the elections on its own, has won three seats while an independent emerged the victor in one constituency. AIADMK was also leading in another seat.


Prominent among the successful Congress candidates were, former chief minister and leader of the opposition in the outgoing assembly V Vaithilingam (Kamaraj Nagar) and Pradesh Congress Committee President A Namassivayam (Villianur).


In the Karaikal South constituency, five-time winner DMK MLA A M H Nazeem lost to AIADMK's K A U Asana by a slender margin of 20 votes.


Congress heavyweight E Valsaraj lost to independent V Ramachandran in Mahe.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios