Asianet News English

Bengaluru North: Congress's Krishna Byre Gowda to face BJP's Sadananda Gowda

Congress has announced rural development minister Krishna Byre Gowda as the opponent of BJP's Sadananda Gowda in Bengaluru North

Bengaluru North Congress Krishna Byre Gowda BJP Sadananda Gowda
Bengaluru, First Published Mar 25, 2019, 11:48 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: Congress has announced its candidate for Bengaluru North constituency. Krisha Byre Gowda will contest against BJP's sitting MP Sadananda Gowda. Krishan Byre Gowda is currently the rural development minister in the Kumaraswamy Cabinet, whereas Sadananda Gowda is the Union minister for Statistics and Programme Implementation.

Earlier, Congress had given the Bengaluru North seat to the JD(S) according to the seat-sharing agreement. But late last night (March 24), JD(S) returned the seat to the Congress as Deve Gowda chose to contest from Tumakuru.

Bengaluru North has eight Assembly seats; KR Puram, Byatarayanapura, Yeshwanthpur, Dasarahalli, Mahalakshmi Layout, Malleshwaram, Hebbal, Pulakeshinagar. Out of these eight seats, seven are occupied by Congress and JD(S) and the BJP has secured one.

Krishna Byre Gowda contested the General election in 2009 from Bangalore South and lost to Ananth Kumar of the BJP.

Sadananda Gowda contested from Bengaluru North in 2014 and won against his closest opponent from Congress, Narayana Swamy by a margin of 2,29,000 votes.

Krishna Byre Gowda is a MLA from Byatarayanapura constituency and has been elected to the Assembly in 2003, 2008 and 2014.

Krishna Byre Gowda entered politics when his father C Byre Gowda, who was also Janata Dal (United) leader died in 2003. He quit the JD(S) and joined the Congress in 2004.

Currently, he will face Sadananda Gowda as a Congress candidate, supported by the JD(S).

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios