The opening game of the Indian Premier League 2021 was held between defending champion Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the MA Chidambaram (Chepauk) Stadium in Chennai on Friday. RCB managed to get off to a winning start, chasing down a modest total of 160 set by MI, thanks to AB de Villiers' resilient 48.

Winning the toss, RCB skipper Virat Kohli elected to bow, with three debutants on his side. Meanwhile, MI skipper Rohit Sharma moved in with six batsmen and five bowlers.

MI was off to a mild shaky start, losing Rohit for 19 in the fourth over via run-out, 24 runs on the board. It was then followed by a 60-run stand between Lynn and Suryakumar Yadav before the latter departed for 31 to pacer Kyle Jamieson after being caught behind by AB de Villiers in the 11th over.

Just 11 runs later, at 105, it was Lynn who fell a run short of his 11th IPL half-century, as he was caught and bowled by spinner Washington Sundar in the 13th over. All-rounder Hardik Pandya tried to contribute but could manage just 13, as 30 runs later, he departed off Patel after being trapped leg-before in the 16th.

It was ten runs later, at 145, when wicketkeeper-batsman Ishan Kishan fell for 28 to Patel in the 18th over after being trapped leg-before again, as he couldn't make the most of the two dropped catches against him. The wickets kept tumbling, as 13 runs later, all-rounder Krunal Pandya departed for a mere seven to the same man after being caught by Dan Christian in the final over, followed by all-rounder Kieron Pollard (7) and Marco Jansen (0), while MI settled for 159/9.

As for RCB, seven bowlers were utilised, with Harshal making the most out of it with a fifer. Meanwhile, pacer Mohammed Siraj was the most economical of all.

FULL SCORECARD: IPL 2021, Match 1- Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

As RCB came out for the chase, it was off to a smooth start, with Sundar and Kohli contributing to a 36-run opening stand. The former was the first to depart for just ten after being caught by Lynn off spinner Krunal in the fifth over.

Ten runs later, in the next over, Rajat Patidar played onto his stumps off pacer Trent Boult for just eight. Nonetheless, it was then followed by a healthy 52-run stand between Kohli and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, setting the tone for the chase.

In the 13th over, at 98, Kohli fell for 33 after being trapped leg-before by pacer Jasprit Bumrah, while five runs later, Maxwell followed him back for 38 in the 15th after pacer Marco Jansen made him caught by Lynn again. Meanwhile, three runs later, Jansen got rid of Shahbaz Ahmed in the same over after being caught by Krunal for a mere single.

Nonetheless, it was de Villiers who made sure that he went after the MI bowlers. Although RCB lost Daniel Christian (1) and Kyle Jamieson (4) in the 17th and 19th over, respectively, it was de Villiers's resilience that allowed RCB to clinch closer to victory.

The South African veteran was run out for 47, with just a couple needed from two. However, Patel ensured that he hit the winning run off the final ball, as RCB took home the honours by three wickets.

For MI, five bowlers were utilised, with Bumrah and Jansen making the most of the impact. Nevertheless, Krunal was the most economical of all.
Brief scores: MI 159/9 (Lynn- 49, Suryakumar- 31; Patel- 5/27) lost to RCB 160/8 (Kohli- 33, Maxwell- 39, de Villiers 48; Bumrah 2/26) by three wickets.