Asianet News English

IPL 2019: After thrilling win against CSK, confident RCB host KXIP

RCB will take on KXIP in an IPL 2019 match on Wednesday (April 24) at Bengaluru's Chinnaswamy Stadium at 8 pm

IPL 2019: After thrilling win against CSK, confident RCB host KXIP
Bengaluru, First Published Apr 23, 2019, 1:22 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: After a thrilling one-run victory against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) on Sunday, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will aim for yet another win and keep their slim chances of making it to the IPL 2019 playoffs alive when they take on the Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium on Wednesday (April 24).

RCB would take a lot of confidence from their last victory against CSK which they registered despite heroics from MS Dhoni in a nail-biting clash.

The inclusion of Dale Steyn has strengthened their bowling attack which is not only providing the early breakthroughs but also is instilling confidence in other bowlers like Umesh Yadav and Navdeep Saini. Their batting boasts of having world class batters like captain Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, who have been in good form in the tournament.

KXIP, on the other hand, lost their previous game against the Delhi Capitals (DC) at the Feroz Shah Kotla in Delhi.

Apart from KL Rahul and Chris Gayle, their batsmen have not been performing which is a worrying sign for the Punjab-based franchise who are at the fifth position in the points table. Their bowling has also been not excellent with bowlers leaking runs and not picking up wickets at crucial junctures of the game.

RCB would be the more confident side going into the match, having beaten the KXIP the last time these two teams met at IS Bindra Stadium in Mohali on April 13.


Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli (captain), Parthiv Patel (wicketkeeper), AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn, Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav, Moeen Ali, Yuzvendra Chahal, Colin de Grandhomme, Pawan Negi, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Akshdeep Nath, Milind Kumar, Marcus Stoinis, Navdeep Saini, Shimron Hetmyer, Heinrich Klaasen, Himmat Singh, Mohammed Siraj, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Kulwant Khejroliya, Devdutt Padikkal, Prayas Barman.

Kings XI Punjab (KXIP): R Ashwin (captain), Chris Gayle, Moises Henriques, Mayank Agarwal, Mandeep Singh, David Miller, Mohammed Shami, Karun Nair, Lokesh Rahul, Murugan Ashwin, Ankit Rajpoot, Nicholas Pooran, Sarfaraz Khan, Hardus Viljoen, Andrew Tye, Sam Curran, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Agnivesh Ayachi, Darshan Nalkande, Varun Chakravarthy, Arshdeep Singh, Simran Singh, Harpreet Brar.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios