Asianet News English

India vs Sri Lanka 2021: Indians to quarantine in Mumbai from June 14

Following the conclusion of the ICC World Test Championship final in England, the Indians would be involved in a limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka. While Shikhar Dhawan would lead the side, the team would undergo a similar quarantine procedure before departure.

India vs Sri Lanka 2021: Indians to quarantine in Mumbai from June 14-ayh
Mumbai, First Published Jun 11, 2021, 8:26 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The senior Indian side is warming up in England ahead of the ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand in Southampton from June 18. Meanwhile, another Indian side is gearing up for the limited-overs tour of Sri Lanka from next month.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced a second-string side that would be touring the island nation. In contrast, the senior side would continue to remain stationed in England following the WTC final conclusion, ahead of its five-Test series against the host for the Pataudi Trophy from August. Meanwhile, the side in Lanka would be led by senior opener Shikhar Dhawan, while National Cricket Academy head coach Rahul Dravid would coach the side.

As for the departure, the Indians are scheduled to leave for Lanka on June 28, reports Sportstar. Before that, they would undergo a two-week quarantine in Mumbai from June 14, similar to the Indians before leaving for England. The players would have to undergo regular RT-PCR tests and could be allowed to use the gym after the initial six days if they test negative for COVID.

Following their arrival in Colombo, they would undergo a rigid quarantine until July 1, followed by a relaxed quarantine that would include light training sessions. After the mandatory seven-day quarantine completion, they would be allowed to train entirely from June 5. “The safety of our players and the support staff is paramount and we will ensure that all the things are taken care of,” a senior BCCI official was quoted as saying.

ALSO READ: What is Rahul Dravid's mantra of success for Team India youngsters? Check it out

The Lanka tour kick starts with the ODIs, to be played on July 13, 16 and 18, followed by the T20Is on 21, 23 and 25. All the matches would be played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

India squad for SL ODIs and T20Is: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vc), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakariya.

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore and Simarjeet Singh.

NOTE: Asianet News humbly requests everyone to wear masks, sanitise, maintain social distancing and get vaccinated as soon as eligible. Together we can and will break the chain #ANCares #IndiaFightsCorona

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios