Asianet News English

India qualify for ICC Women’s World Cup 2021 in New Zealand

ICC has allocated points for the cancelled series and India qualified for the ICC Women's Cricket World Cup 2021 after finishing in the top-four

India qualify ICC Women World Cup 2021 New Zealand
Dubai - United Arab Emirates, First Published Apr 16, 2020, 11:12 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp
Dubai: India have qualified for the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 after the International Cricket Council (ICC) allocated points to teams for the cancelled series in the ICC Women’s Championship.

Australia (37 points), England (29), South Africa (25) and now India (23) have qualified by virtue of being the top four. Pakistan (19), New Zealand (17), West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5) complete the table.

Also read: List of cricketers who have donated to PM CARES Fund

The Women’s 50-over World Cup will be played in New Zealand from February 6 to March 7, 2021.

“The ICC Women’s Championship Technical Committee (TC) has decided that teams will share points in all three series in the ICC Women’s Championship that did not take place during the competition window,” ICC said on Wednesday (April 15).

It added, “With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the TC concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship.”

Meanwhile, two other ICC Women’s Championship series have been cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. South Africa were to host Australia and Sri Lanka were to host New Zealand in the last round of matches.

The India-Pakistan series was originally scheduled in the sixth round of the competition, between July and November 2019, but despite the best efforts of both the boards, it was unable to take place.

All eight teams in the 2017-2020 edition of the ICC Women’s Championship play each other in a three-match series. The host of the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021, New Zealand, and the next four highest-placed teams on the points table qualify directly for one-day international cricket’s pinnacle event.

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is scheduled to be played from July 3 to 19 in Sri Lanka, this is subject to review due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The 10 teams vying for the three remaining places in the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup 2021 will be the hosts, Sri Lanka, along with Pakistan and West Indies from the ICC Women’s Championship, the two other teams with ODI status, Bangladesh and Ireland, and the winners of the five regional qualifiers - Thailand (Asia), Zimbabwe (Africa), Papua New Guinea (East Asia Pacific), United States of America (Americas) and Netherlands (Europe),” ICC said.
Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios