Asianet News English

COVID-19: Karnataka government identifies Bengaluru and 4 other districts as 'red zones'

Some of the surrounding villages of these districts in Karnataka have been identified as buffer zones to prevent and curb the spread of COVID-19.

COVID-19: Karnataka government identifies Bengaluru and 4 other districts as 'red zones'
Bengaluru, First Published Apr 1, 2020, 2:29 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Bengaluru: The silicon city, Bengaluru has been termed as one of the coronavirus hotspots in the country, according to the National Centre for Disease Control (NCDC). The Karnataka government too has identified some districts as ‘cluster zones’ or ‘red zones’ which include Mysuru, Uttara Kannada, Bengaluru, Dakshina Kannada and Chikkaballapur.

Some of the surrounding villages have been identified as buffer zones to prevent the spread of COVID-19. According to a report on The New Indian Express, medical education minister K Sudhakar was quoted saying, “Whether Bengaluru figures in NCDC list or not, Karnataka government has already ensured strict measures in most of our districts.  Bengaluru is one among them and it is natural to be termed as ‘hotspot’ as there is a movement of more than 2 million IT population in the city and needs extra attention."

The measures will be even more stringent in the next two weeks, he added.

The concerned officials will ensure that the districts declared as red zone get extra attention in terms of curbing the spread of COVID-19. Not only door-to-door awareness campaigns and hourly selfies will be taken but also quarantine cases and contact histories will be monitored closely. The lockdown measures will also be strictly imposed in these districts.

In Bengaluru, the lockdown imposed has been strictly followed due to the high inflow of IT employees. The officials are ensuring that no one steps out or loiters around unnecessarily.

The report by The New Indian Express states that according to senior epidemiologists, there is a need for multiple but localised lockdowns even after the countrywide relaxation of lockdown rules. “It is important to identify places where total lockdown or allowing step-wise relaxation is allowed after April 14. This will help in containing the virus,” said a senior epidemiologist.

Heritage city Mysuru has 13 positive cases from one pharmaceutical factory in Nanjangud. The cases began with one of their employees with no travel or contact history testing positive, following which 12 others tested positive. Now, 1,372 of its employees have been put under home quarantine and the entire Nanjangud area has been under lockdown.

The next in order to be marked as ‘sensitive zone’ is Uttara Kannada district with Bhatkal town being under strict vigilance. 7 people, mostly, with travel history to Dubai and Mecca, have tested positive.

Mangaluru too has also been under strict lockdown as it is close to Kasargod in Kerala which reported many positive cases and is also one of the ‘hotspots’ in the NCDC list.

The following are hotspots in Karnataka:

Bengaluru - 45 cases

Mysuru (Nanjangud) - 14 cases

Uttara Kannada (Bhatkal) - 8 cases

Dakshina Kannada (Mangaluru and Udupi) - 8 cases

Chikkaballapur - 9 cases

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios