AIADMK passes resolution to expel Sasikala and Dinakaran permanently on Monday, August 28. They have also decided to take back AIADMK official media from Dinakaran. These decisions were taken in the meeting held at party headquarters in Chennai.

All MPs, MLAs and office bearers of the AIADMK huddled at the party headquarters in Royapettah, Chennai for the meeting, led by chief minister Edapaddi Palaniswami, days after two factions merged.

The AIADMK has decided to convene a general council meeting soon.

All appointments made by TTV Dhinakaran, with the blessings of Sasikala, have been declared null and void.

Dhinakaran had removed Chief Minister E Palaniswami from the post of party's Salem district secretary on August 27. Earlier, he had sacked several party officials as former minister S Gokula Indira, chief whip S Rajendran, Rajya Sabha member R Vaithialingam and others. All the expelled members will now be reinstated.

The party has also decided to legally take back the media outlets Namadhu MGR and Jaya TV from TTV Dhinakran.

The 21 rebel MLAs who have pledged support to TTV Dhinakaran had earlier threatened violence if Sasikala is ousted.

Earlier OPS-EPS supports had protested against TTV Dhinakaran and Sasikala outside the party headquarters.