IPL 2018 final, CSK vs SRH: Shane Watson ton carries CSK to third IPL title

IPL 2018 final, CSK vs SRH: Shane Watson ton carries CSK to third IPL title

MS Dhoni lifts the trophy for a third time, as the Super Kings draw level with Mumbai Indians for the most successful side in IPL history!

Chennai won the T20 tournament as Shane Watson played a fantastic innings, scoring 117 runs from 57 balls. Suresh Raina scored 32 runs from 24 balls while Rayudu scored 16 from 19 in the end, and hit the winning runs. Sandeep Sharma and Carlos Brathwaite took 1 wicket each for Hyderabad. Rashid Khan couldn't make a mark today, as Chennai won with 9 balls to spare.

What an innings by Shane Watson, one of the most gritty displays in all of IPL. He had visible discomfort with a niggle in the groin. When Bhuvneshwar and Sandeep Sharma got the new ball to swing early on, he couldn't even get bat to ball, but once conditions got better he was unstoppable. SRH were beaten by a better man.

That title should be the sweetest for CSK of the three they have won, because this one comes after a two-year hiatus. And the support they've received across the country has been unrivalled.

This is an insane run chase from CSK. The heads were down when Watson was struggling and Faf fell into the trap, but they believed. They have built a team around experience. They were mocked when their squad didn't have many youngsters, but it's that experience of handling the big game pressure that has helped them win the title this year.

Hyderabad posted a total of 178/6 in 20 overs after being sent to bat first by Chennai. After Dhawan scored 26, Kane Williamson scored 47 from 36 balls while Shakib scored 23 from 15. Yusuf Pathan played well scoring 45 from 25 while Brathwaite added 21 from 11 at the end. Lungi Ndidi, Karn Sharma, Bravo, Jadeja and Shardul Thakur took one wicket each for Chennai.