Most of the North-Western Zone of Railways passes through Karnataka. AK Gupta, General Manager of North Western Zone, has said that the budget has allocated ₹ 3,174 crores for the zone, while last year it was ₹ 2,663.42 crore.


This is what is in store for Karnataka railways


•    New railway route of 13 km from Chikka Benakal to Gangavati, Koppala District.

•    Line doubling of 46.81 km between Daund (Maharashtra) and Kalaburgi (Karnataka)

•    Electrification of Guntakal, Ballari, Hosapete, Toranagal, Ranjitpur; Hosapete and Gadag

•    Two new lines for Bengaluru’s Namma Metro and extension of four routes of Metro second phase.

•    25 railway stations in the country will be upgraded, among which two are located in Karnataka (Cantonment Railway Station and Yeshwanthpur Railway Station)

•    Provision for 100 MW solar electricity for 34 stations in the North Western Zone

•    Bio-toilets to be installed in 914 trains of North Western Zone