Asianet Newsable

Congress and TRS to battle for Palair by-poll

TDP-YSR out, Congress-TRS , Palair by-poll, AP
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The by-poll is necessitated following the death of sitting Congress MLA R Venkata Reddy and the party has decided to field his widow, Sucharita Reddy as its nominee.


The ruling TRS has selected State Roads and Buildings minister Tummala Nageswara Rao as its candidate.


Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao's son state IT and Panchayat Raj Minister K T Rama Rao has been appointed as the party in charge for the election.


Congress has appealed to all the other parties to let Venkata Reddy's widow be elected unopposed as per a tradition in undivided Andhra Pradesh and also in view of the departed leader's clean image.


State Congress president N Uttam Kumar Reddy has written to the parties to let the Congress nominee be elected unopposed. Party working president M Bhatti Vikramarka also called on TDP Telangana unit president L Ramana, YSR Congress president YS Jaganmohan Reddy and leaders of other parties with the request.


Considering to the request, YSR Congress and TDP have announced their decision not to field their candidates.


TDP and YSR Congress, which are anti-Congress in nature, have now come together to defeat the TRS in the Palair bypoll, Vikramarka alleged.


Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios