Given the political equations, assuming power in Kerala would be a distant dream for the BJP. But that doesn’t keep its leaders away from enjoying the perks of power. In a recent decision, the central government has brought four BJP leaders in the state under the Y-category protection, increasing the number of BJP/NDA Kerala leaders under the protection of central commandoes to six.


The government decided to extend CRPF protection under Y-category to BJP state president Kummanam Rajasekharan, state general secretaries MT Ramesh, K Surendran and former state president PK Krishnadas considering threat perception. The decision follows intelligence inputs that these leaders are under threat "from extremists and a particular political party in Kerala."


Four teams of 13-member commandoes each will take charge of the protection of these netas in January. Two commandoes will be with the BJP leaders at a time providing 24X7 security cover. 

 Former Union Minister and the lone BJP MLA in the State Assembly O Rajagopal and SNDP leader Vellappally Natesan, who is also a leader of the BDJS, an ally of the BJP, are under high-security cover at present.