Only a few hours left to declare the final results of bypolls in Gundlupet and Nanjangud constituencies. But the Congress workers are already in a celebratory mode for having trumped BJP in both the constituencies.


Riding on a sympathy wave, Geetha Mahadeva Prasad has been maintaining good lead ahead of BJP's Niranjan Kumar in Gundlupet. Already defeated twice, Niranjan Kumar is desparate to win this polls. With a margin of 8,727 votes, Geetha had secured 73,904 votes by 13th round of counting. BJP’s Niranjan Kumar secured 65,177 votes.


In fact, Niranjan Kumar was twice defeated by Mahadeva Prasad Prasad earlier. This time too, victory may not be on his side.


In Najangud, BJP was hoping to break into Congress bastion with former minister V Srinivas Prasad, who quit Congress to join Saffron party. But their calculations seem to have gone wrong. Voters chose Kalale Keshavamurthy over popular leader Srinivas Prasad. Srinivas has been a dalit face of Congress in the constituency after winning three elections. But he quit the party after he was dropped from the cabinet during expansion.


Upset, Prasad joined BJP. But, voters seem to have not taken kind to his "opportunistic politics".


Earlier, Keshavamurthy has lost twice to five-time MP and two-time legislator Srinivas Prasad. This time, it will be a sweet revenge for Keshavamurthy. Keshavamurthy was polled 53,988 votes and had mainteained 16,645 votes margin, while Srinivas Prasad secured 37,343 votes.

The tally so far

Constituency Congress BJP
Gundlupet 90,258 79,381