Asianet News English

271 nominations filed in Kerala

271 nominations filed in Kerala
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Former Chief Minister V S Achuthanandan and CPI(M) politburo member Pinarayi Vijayan were among the 271 candidates who filed their nominations for the May 16 Assembly Elections in Kerala today.

93-year-old Marxist veteran and Opposition leader Achuthanandan, who is contesting from Malampuzha constituency, filed his nomination papers at the Palakkad collectorate while Vijayan, contesting from Dharmadom, filed his papers at the Kannur collectorate.

Ministers Shibu Baby John (RSP), P K Jayalakshmi (Cong) M K Muneer (IUML), V Sivankutty, MLA (CPI-M) and former Rajya Sabha MP T N Seema (CPI-M) also filed their nominations on the second day today.

LDF candidates E P Jayarajan, Kadanapally Ramachandran and T V Rajesh also filed their papers. On April 22, when the filing of nominations began, 29 candidates had filed their papers. Totally, 300 nominations have been filed in the state, officials said.

While the maximum number of nominations were filed in Palakkad district today (36), the lowest (6) was from Pathanamthitta district.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios