The Last of Us Part 2 has swept The Game Awards 2020, having won across seven categories.

Besides being awarded the 'Game of the Year', The Last of Us 2 also won in categories of best direction, narrative, action / adventure game, innovation in accessibility, audio design and Laura Bailey's performance

Neil Druckmann, creator and director of the follow up to the original 2013 video game, said: "More than anything and I know I speak for the whole team, we’d like to thank our friends and family to who stuck by us while we were making this game. You continue to inspire us in making better games but also in how we make these games."

Watch the trailer of the Last Part of Us 2 below followed by the list of other winners.


Here's the complete list of winners

Game of the Year

The Last of Us Part II

Best Game Direction

The Last of Us Part II

Best Narrative

The Last of Us Part II

Best Art Direction

Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch)

Best Score and Music

Final Fantasy VII Remake

Best Audio Design

The Last of Us Part 2

Best Performance

Laura Bailey as Abby, The Last of Us Part II

Games for Impact

Tell Me Why

Best Ongoing

No Man’s Sky

Best Indie


Best Mobile

Among Us (InnerSloth)

Best Community Support

Fall Guys: Ultimate Knockout

Innovation in Accessibility

The Last of Us Part II

Best VR/AR

Half-Life: Alyx

Best Action


Best Action/Adventure

The Last of Us Part II

Best Role Playing

Final Fantasy VII Remake (Square Enix)

Best Fighting

Mortal Kombat 11/Ultimate

Best Family

Animal Crossings: New Horizon (Nintendo)

Best Sim/Strategy

Microsoft Flight Simulator

Best Sports/Racing

Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2 (Vicarious Visions/Activision)

Best Multiplayer

Among Us (InnerSloth)

Best Debut Game


Content Creator of the Year