The Election Commission announced the polling schedule for the 224-member Karnataka assembly on Tuesday. Voting in Karnataka will be held on 12 May and will be held in a single phase, while counting is slated for 15 May. Results will be announced on the same day.

Special arrangements are being made for the disabled and women. 4.96 crore people are slated to vote in the assembly elections of which 2.59 crore are male. There has been a 9% in polling booths. Voters will have their photos displayed on the voting machine.

April 17 will be the date of notification for candidates. April 24 will be the last date for filing nomination. Scrutiny will be done on April 26. The last date for withdrawal is April 27. The code of conduct will end on May 28. At present Congress has 122 seats, BJP has 43 seats, JDS 37 seats, KJP has 2 and BSRC has 3. 

The last state elections were held in the first week of May in 2013. The polls are being seen as politically crucial for the ruling Congress as well as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) as it is the only big state where the former is in power after losing a string of assembly elections to the saffron party in the last few years.

The BJP is making a concerted bid to unseat the Congress. Besides, the Congress and the BJP, the JD(S) led by former prime minister HD Deve Gowda is the third player in the fray.

Karnataka polls are Trailer for 2019 Lok Sabha Polls. Cricketing legend Rahul Dravid has been announced as the brand ambassador for the Karnataka elections.