The Election Commission announced the polling schedule for the 224-member Karnataka assembly on Tuesday. Voting in Karnataka will be held on 12 May and will be held in a single phase, while counting is slated for 15 May. Results will be announced on the same day.

To make sure that the elections get the maximum turnout, the Election Commission has come out with a unique concept called 'Vote Akka, Vote Anna'.

According to the concept, the Election Commission will approach regular citizens and ask them to in-turn approach other people to vote on May 12. These people will approach the general citizens at malls, railway stations, bus stands, go on door-to-door campaigns and also conduct street plays. The citizens will educate the public about the importance of voting.

A programme is also in the pipeline where 20 and more artists will take part in it. it will be held in Vidhan Soudha. Eminent filmmaker and lyricist Yograj Bhatt is allegedly conceptualising the show and he is apparently writing an anthem for the elections. It will be rolled out in a couple of days.