The South Eastern Railway will run 14 EMU (Electric Multiple Unit) services from today (November 17) in addition to the existing 81 suburban trains that are running in its Howrah-Kharagpur section since the resumption of local train services in West Bengal.

Out of the 14 additional EMU services, 7 will run in Up direction and 7 in Down direction. Among the 7 Up EMU trains, four trains will run between Howrah-Panskura and one train each between Howrah-Midnapur, Howrah-Kharagpur, and Howrah-Mecheda.

Also read: Seven-year-old girl dies of burn injuries during Kali puja celebrations in West Bengal

Similarly, out of the 7 Down Emu trains, four trains will run between Panskura-Howrah and one train each between Midnapur-Howrah, Kharagpur-Howrah, and Mecheda-Howrah.

These EMU Locals will run as per the timings and stoppages of the existing Public Sub-urban Time table 2019-20.

The daily tickets and season tickets will be available at the booking counters at different stations for the commuters. It has been decided to extend the validity of season tickets to the extent of days lost during lockdown.

Also read: Martyred Indian soldier Subodh Ghosh’s body reaches his hometown in West Bengal

A railway official said, “The number of EMU local services is being increased, considering passenger requirements, especially during peak hours. The number of suburban services run by SER in the Howrah-Kharagpur section will now be 95.”

Entry inside the stations and in trains will be strictly maintained as per the COVID-19 health protocols. Close liaison with State Authorities and various Railway Departments has been programmed for ensuring social distancing, queue management and prevention of spread of COVID-19.