Bengaluru: The JD(S) on Thursday announced its nominees for the upper house seats.

The election to the four legislative council seats, Karnataka South-East, Bengaluru Teachers constituency, Karnataka West Graduates and Karnataka North-East Teachers will take place on October 28.

The party had set up six teams of observers to oversee and ensure victory of its nominees in these elections.

The JD(S) released the list of its candidates for the council polls, necessitated by the end of tenure of sitting members.

Chowda Reddy Thoopalli (Karnataka South-East), advocate AP Ranganath (Teachers constituency), Shivashankar Kallur (Karnataka West Graduates) and Timmayya S Purle (Karnataka North-East Teachers) are the four nominees. Chowda Reddy Thoopalli, who retired after representing South-East, has been renominated.

Also read: Karnataka: Decision to reopen schools to be taken after Oct 10 says minister Suresh Kumar

Meanwhile the bypolls are to be held on November 3 in Shira in Tumakuru district and RR Nagar in Bengaluru Urban district. The last date of filing nomination is October 16.

The Congress has already finalised TB Jayachandra as the candidate for Shira while it is yet to take a call on RR Nagar.

Former IAS officer late DK Ravi’s wife Kusuma Ravi, Krishna Murthy, Magadi Balakrishna, Congress social media in charge Raksha Ramaiah and District Congress Committee President M Rajkumar’s names are doing the rounds.