Asianet News English

I will remain in power for the next three-and-a-half years, says Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa

Chief minister BS Yediyurappa exuded confidence and said the people of Karnataka favour the saffron party and BJP candidates will surely emerge victorious in the by-polls.

I will remain in power for the next three and a half years, says Karnataka CM BS Yediyurappa
Bengaluru, First Published Nov 29, 2019, 3:34 PM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Haveri: Chief minister BS Yediyurappa exuded confidence as he reiterated that BJP will win in all 15 Assembly constituencies in the upcoming by-polls.

“I don’t need the support of any party. We will surely win majority and there won’t be a chance for any other party to form government,” said Yediyurappa.

Addressing reporters in Haveri district, BS Yediyurappa said, no matter what, the people are in favour of the saffron party.

He stated, “I will remain the chief minister for the next three-and a half years and complete my term. Our candidates in all the 15 Assembly constituencies will emerge victorious. No matter what others say, people favour the BJP.”

Yediyurappa also lashed out at those who alleged that the BJP is indulging in cheap strategies to win the by-polls.

We are sure of winning more than eight seats in the by-polls on December 5. We don’t have to plan any strategies to win. Whereas the people will vote for our candidates in all 15 by-poll constituencies.,” Yediyurappa said.

15 Assembly constituencies in Karnataka will go to polls on December 5 and the counting of votes will take place on December 9.

The by-polls were necessitated after the resignation and absence of 17 Congress and JD(S) MLAs, which led to toppling of the HD Kumaraswamy led coalition government and paved the way for the BJP to come to power.

17 legislators were subsequently disqualified by the then Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar. However, the Supreme Court that heard MLAs' petition challenging the disqualification allowed them to contest the by-elections.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios