Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Bihar election results: Will Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD annihilate Nitish Kumar’s government?

The counting of votes on November 10 will begin as early as 8 am. The counting of votes and results on individual seats will be declared live at the following websites of Election Commission of India –,, and

Bihar election results Will Tejashwi Yadavs RJD annihilate Nitish Kumars government-dnm
Patna, First Published Nov 10, 2020, 7:47 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Patna: The fate of the Nitish Kumar-led JD(U) government, which has helmed Bihar for a decade and a half, will be decided on Tuesday as election results to the 243-member legislative assembly will be declared.

Counting of votes will begin at 8 am today with all real-time trends and results of elections being made on Election Commission of India's website.

Despite the dreaded and deadly Covid-19 pandemic, Bihar clocked the highest poll percentage in 20 years in the just-concluded three-phase assembly elections.

The voting for the three-phase Bihar assembly elections concluded on November 7 with 57% turnout.

A report on Times of India quoted EC official saying that Covid protocols for safe counting will not delay results. “Adequate and elaborate arrangements are there to facilitate counting on time in safe environment,” said the official.

Also watch:  'Bihar verdict will be beginning of NDA's downfall'

The Election Commission has made elaborate arrangements for counting of votes today. The poll panel said it has set up a total of 55 counting centres, housing 414 halls, spread across all the 38 districts of the state.

Prohibitory orders under Section 144 of the Criminal Procedure Code (CrPC) have been imposed in and around the counting centres to prevent gathering of people.

The inner core is being guarded by the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPFs), then there is the Bihar Military Police (BMP) and then the district police.

Bihar is the first state where the full-fledged election was held after the coronavirus outbreak in India.

The voting across 243-assembly constituencies in Bihar was held in three phases on October 28, November 3, and November 7 to decide the fate of 3,755 candidates.

The election campaign witnessed a tough fight between the incumbent Nitish Kumar from JD(U) and the Tejashwi Yadav from RJD.

While the Nitish-led JD(U) contested from 115 of the 243 seats, its ally BJP contested from 110 seats. Chirag Paswan-led Lok Janshakti Party contested the elections on 134 seats.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios