Asianet NewsableAsianet Newsable

Samantha Akkineni, Pankaj Tripathi win big at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM); Here's complete list

The complete winners' list of the Indian Film Festival Of Melbourne 2021 is out. From Samantha Akkineni to Vidya Balan to Pankaj Tripathi and many more won at the 12th edition awards ceremony.

Samantha Akkineni, Pankaj Tripathi win big at Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM); Here's complete list RCB
Bangalore, First Published Aug 20, 2021, 3:33 PM IST

Today, the Indian Film Festival of Melbourne (IFFM) announced its grand winners for its 12th edition, which was held virtually. Sponsored by the Government of Victoria in Melbourne, Australia, the 12th edition went virtual due to the novel coronavirus pandemic. Indian stars like Vidya Balan, Pankaj Tripathi, Manoj Bajpayee, Suriya, Samantha Akkineni, and more have won the trophy. 

The festival was attended by various dignitaries of Australia, along with Anurag Kashyap, Shoojit Sircar, Thiagarajan Kumararaja, Sriram Raghavan were amongst the presenters. 

Also present were the prestigious jury members, including Richa Chadha, Guneet Monga, Onir, Australian filmmaker Geoffrey Wright, Oscar-nominated editor Jill Bilcock were was also the present.

IFFM honoured Pankaj Tripathi with the Prestigious Diversity in Cinema Award presented by LaTrobe University. Soorarai Pottru won the Best Feature Film, and Tamil star Suriya won the Best Actor award from the same film. Vidya Balan won the Best Actress for Sherni and Mirzapur was given the Best Series Award. Anurag Basu picks up the Best Director trophy for his film Ludo.

On getting the Best Actress in a feature film for Sherni, Vidya said, “I’m thrilled to be receiving the award for Sherni, which was shot during the pandemic. Thanks to my director Amit Masurkar, my producer Abundantia- who pulled all stops to make this film during these uncertain times."

Best actress in a series for The Family Man 2, was won by Samantha Akkineni. After her name was announced, she said, “First time at this festival. To be here amongst such immense talent. I’m grateful and it’s such a huge honour. Thanks to Raj and DK for seeing past the cute girl image I have and giving me this role that is so different from what I have done so far. To give me this character that has so many layers and such diverse parts to it. It’s my big dive into OTT and what an amazing show to do it with."

Here’s a complete list of winners:

Best Feature Film - Soorarai Pottru

Best Performance Male (Feature) - Suriya Sivakumar (Soorarai Pottru)

Best Performance Female (Feature) - Vidya Balan (Sherni) & Honourable mention to Nimisha Sajayan (The Great Indian Kitchen)

Best Director - Anurag Basu (Ludo) & Honorary Mention Prithvi Konanur (Pinki Elli?)

Best Series - Mirzapur Season 2

Best Actress in a Series - Samantha Akkineni (The Family Man 2)

Best Actor in a Series - Manoj Bajpayee (The Family Man 2)

Equality in Cinema (Short Film) - Sheer Qorma

Equality in Cinema Award (Feature Film) - The Great Indian Kitchen

Best Indie Film - Fire in the Mountains

Diversity in Cinema Award - Pankaj Tripathi

Disruptor Award - Sanal Kumar Sasidharan

Best Documentary Film – Shut Up Sona

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios