Asianet Newsable

Republic Day 2020: 10 songs that rekindle patriotic spirit

These desh-bhakti tracks are hummed when we hoist the tricolour every year. Here are best Bollywood patriotic songs to celebrate 71st Republic Day.

Republic Day 2020: 10 songs that rekindle patriotic spirit
Bengaluru, First Published Jan 26, 2020, 11:14 AM IST
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

Aye Mere Watan ke Logon
The song has been written by Kavi Pradeep as a tribute to Indian soldiers who died in the Sino-Indian war. Composed by C Ramchandra and sung by Lata Mangeshkar, the song was first performed by Lata on January 27, 1963 at the National Stadium, New Delhi, to celebrate Republic Day, which was just two months after the war. 

Yeh Desh Hai Veer Jawanon Kaa from the movie Naya Daur
The film Naya Daur (1957) features Dilip Kumar, Vyajayantimala and Ajit in the lead roles. The music of the song is composed by OP Nayyar, lyrics by Sahir Ludhiyanvi and sung by Rafi and Balbeer. 

Chak De India
This is the title song of the film which was released in 2007. The film has Shah Rukh Khan as the hockey coach of the women’s hockey team which goes on to win the hockey world cup. 

Bharat Hum ko Jaan Se Pyaara Hai
This song is from Roja and was sung by Hariharan. Originally a Tamil film, it was dubbed in Hindi, Marathi, Malayalam and Telugu languages. The film stars Arvind Swamy and Madhoo in lead roles.

I Love My India from Pardes
Actress Mahima Chaudhary had made her Bollywood debut with this film. Directed by Subhash Ghai, the film also stars Shah Rukh Khan, Alonk Nath and Amrish Puri.

Rang De Basanti
The title track of the movie Rang De Basanti is a perfect song to dance your way to the Republic Day celebration. The music is by AR Rahman and features Daler Mehandi and KS Chitra’s voice.

Ab Tumhare Hawale Watan
This song was sung by Mohammed Rafi in the 1964 film Haqeeqat. The music in the film was composed by Madan Mohan and the lyrics by Kaifi Azmi.

Kandhon se milte hain kandhe from Lakshya
The song is written by legendary lyricist Javed Akhtar and composed by Shankar Ehsaan Loy. The song is sung by Shankar Mahadeva, Sonu Nigam, Hariharan, Roop Kumar Rathod, Vijay Prakash and Kunal Ganjawala. 

Aisa Des Hai Mera from Veer-Zaara

The song was sung by legendary singers Lata Mangeskar, Udit Narayan and Gurdas Maan. The song features Shah Rukh Khan and Preity Zinta.

Maa Tujhe Salaam
The title song of 1997 studio album ‘Vande Mataram’ is composed by music legend AR Rahman. The song captures the patriotic spirit in a perfect way. 

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios