Asianet Newsable

TN: 3,789 nominations filed for assembly polls

TN assembly polls, nominations filed
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Whatsapp

The nominations have been filed in all 234 constituencies in the state by AIADMK and its allies. Notably, AIADMK's 'two leaves' symbol is in the contest in all 234 seats in Tamil Nadu for the first time in the party's history. AIADMK has fielded 227 candidates and the other seven seats were allotted to smaller allies.


The seven nominations of AIADMK allies will be contesting on the ruling party's two- leaves symbol. AIADMK supremo and Chief Minister Jayalalithaa had submitted her nomination on April 25 here.


Key AIADMK leaders who filed their papers today were Finance Minister O Panneerselvam at Bodinayackanur in Theni District, Housing Minister R Vaithilingam in Orathanadu, Electricity Minister Natham Viswanathan in Athur-Dindigul, senior leader Panruti S Ramachandran in Alandur and Social Welfare Minister B Valarmathi in Thousand Lights.


Chief among AIADMK's allies who presented their nomination papers were R Sarathkumar, chief of All India Samathuva Makkal Katchi in the temple town of Tiruchendur and M Thamimun Ansari, General Secretary of Manithaneya Jananayaga Katchi from Nagapattinam.


Chief of the state unit of BJP, Tamilisai Soundararajan also filed her nomination today at Virugumbakkem here. With this, the total number of nominations filed in Tamil Nadu stands at 3,789, of which 3,358 are men and 430 are women. One candidate is a transgender.


Filing of nominations began on April 22 and the last date for submission is tomorrow. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on April 30. The last day for withdrawal is May 2.

Follow Us:
Download App:
  • android
  • ios